University of Pittsburgh

Awards and Recognition page

Professor Haider Ala Hamoudi has been awarded the American Society of Comparative Law’s Hessel Yntema Prize for the best scholarly article published in the American Journal of Comparative Law in 2008 by a scholar under the age of 40.

Scotland Duncan ('09) wins first place for his paper entitled "Dura's Effect on Securities Class Actions" in the 2009 ABA Section of Business Law Mendes Hershman Student Writing Contest.

A paper Pilar Kraman (’08) wrote while a student was selected as the winning entry in the annual writing competition sponsored by the ABA’s Criminal Justice publication and was published in that periodical.

Read the article at (membership required)

Mary Akhimien (’09) won first place for her paper entitled “Game Over:  How Diversity Has Become a Game Corporate American Can No Longer Afford to Lose,” which she presented at the National Black Graduate Student Conference in Houston.

Professor Peter Oh’s article, The Dutch Auction Myth, 42 Wake Forest L. Rev. 853 (2007), was selected via peer review as one of the top 10 securities law articles published in 2008 and will be reprinted in a forthcoming issue of the Securities Law Review.

Download the article at SSRN

Professor John Burkoff was selected to receive a 2009 Chancellor’s Distinguished Public Service Award from the University of Pittsburgh. 

Pitt Chronicle Article

Professor Michael Madison was selected to receive a 2009 Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award from the University of Pittsburgh.

Pitt Chronicle Article

Jessica Ellel, Senior Associate at Houston Harbaugh and 2002 graduate of Pitt Law School, was elected Chair of the Health Law Section of the Allegheny County Bar Association for 2009-2010 at the Annual Membership Meeting on May 8, 2009.

Heather Bednarek, Associate at Thorp Reed & Armstrong and 2006 graduate of Pitt Law School, was elected Vice Chair.

Anna Bamonte Torrance, Member, Houston Harbaugh and 1987 graduate of Pitt Law School, was elected Treasurer.

Stephen DiLorenzo '09 is the recipient of two awards from the Pittsburgh Intellectual Property Law Association -- the 2009 Leadership Award, and the 2009 Writing Award.

Revised 09/28/2011 | Copyright 2011 | Site by UMC