Academic Calendar

Fall 2016 Semester

Dates Days Event
August 23-26 Tuesday - Friday First-year student orientation
August 29 Monday Fall Semester classes begin
August 29 - September 2 Monday - Friday Final Add/Drop for Fall Semester
September 5 Monday Labor Day (no classes)
November 23-25 Wednesday - Friday Thanksgiving Recess (no classes)
(Univ. Closed Thursday and Friday)
December 6 Tuesday Friday Class Schedule
December 8 Thursday Last Day of Classes;
Thursday Class Schedule
December 12-22 Monday - Thursday Fall Semester Examinations

Spring 2017 Semester

Dates Days Event
January 4-7 Wednesday - Saturday Annual AALS Meeting,
San Francisco, CA
January 9 Monday Spring Semester classes begin
January 9 - 13 Monday - Friday Final Add/Drop for Spring Semester
January 16 Monday Dr. Martin Luther King Day
(no classes)
March 6 - 10 Monday - Friday Spring Recess (no classes)
March 10 Friday Spring Holiday (University closed)
April 24 Monday Last Day of Classes;
Monday Class Schedule
April 27 - May 9 Thursday - Tuesday Spring Semester Examinations
May 12 Friday Law School Graduation

2016-2017 Academic Calendar Download

First Semester

  1. "If I Only Knew Then What I Know Now": Thoughts From Prominent Lawyers on What They Should Have Done and Not Done When They Were in Law School To Prepare For Their Legal Careers--Thursday, Sept. 8 at 3:30 pm in the Courtroom

  2. How Do I Figure Out What Kind of Law I Want to Practice?–Thursday, September 29 at 3:30 pm in the Courtroom

  3. Public Law Careers & “Stepping Stones”: Is This For Me?–Thursday, October 20 at 3:30 pm in the Courtroom

  4. Working in Private Law Firms: What's the Difference (Personally and Professionally) Between Working in Small, Medium & Large Firms?--Thursday, November 10 at 3:30 pm in the Courtroom 

Second Semester

  1. There's More to Being a Lawyer Than Just "the Law": Lawyers As Leaders--Thursday, Jan. 12 at 3:30 pm in the Courtroom

  2. Is It Possible to Be a Super Star Lawyer and Still Have a Personal Life/Family?--Thursday, February 2, at 3:30 pm in the Courtroom

  3. Being “the Other” in Law Practice: What's It Like Being Different From So Many Other Lawyers and Judges & How Should You Handle It?,--Thursday, Feb. 23 at 3:30 pm in the Courtroom

  4. Handling Job Stress Without Becoming a Drug Addict or an Alcoholic: Some Good Advice & Some Cautionary Tales--Thursday, March 23 at 3:30 pm in the Courtroom